Organized by:
(click here for faculty bios)

Maria Aiolova, LEED AP
Mitchell Joachim, PhD

Program Director
Christian Hubert


Vito Acconci, Acconci Studio

David Benjamin, The Living

Martina Decker,  Decker Yeadon

Alexander Felson, PhD, Yale

Melanie Fessel, Terreform ONE

Graham Hill, Treehugger

Ellen Jorgensen, PhD, Genspace

Janna Levin, PhD, Barnard Columbia University

Kaja Kuehl, Youarethecity

Marni Jajorelle, Alive Structures

Mary Mattingly, Waterpod

Walter Meyer, Local Office Landscape

Oliver Medvedik, PhD, Genspace

Paul D. Miller, a.k.a. DJ Spooky

Amanda Parkes, PhD, Bodega Algae

James Patten, PhD, Patten Studio

Peter Raymond, Human Condition

Nina Tandon, PhD, Columbia University

Skylar Tibbits, MIT, SJET

Jason Vollen, CASE RPI

Bill Washabaugh, Hypersonic
Amanda Parkes, PhD is a mechanical engineer and designer
interested in the relationship of gesture, form, materiality, and
computation in the context of hybrid physical-digital objects with
a research focus on developing intuitive and investigative
learning and design tools. She is currently the Chief
Technology Officer at BodegaAlgae, a developer of scalable
algae photobioreactors whose closed continuous-flow reactors
produce high-energy algal biomass for use in the production of
biofuel. Amanda holds a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering
(Product Design) and a B.A. in Art History from Stanford
University, and an M.S. in Media Arts and Sciences and a PhD
from MIT. She has developed exhibits at the Exploratorium in
San Francisco, freelanced internationally in multimedia design,
and developed installations and programs for the Science
Museum in London and the the Peggy Guggenheim Collection
in Venice. Her work has been featured in various internationally
recognized design and art awards including the ID Magazine
Annual Design Review and the Prix Ars Electronica. She was
named one of Mass High Tech's 'Women to Watch' for 2008.
Outside the lab, she likes to sew, surf, and amass exquisite

Maria Aiolova
Jessica Banks
Carlos Barrios
Ayah Bdeir
Andy Cavatorta
Alexander Felson
Melanie Fessel
Marc Fornes
Nurhan Gokturk
Dan Grushkin
Mitchell Joachim
Ellen Jorgensen
Heather Knight
Andrew Laska
Adam Lassy
Janna Levin
ONE Lab Faculty at TED