Organized by:
Melanie Fessel
Terreform ONE
Melanie Fessel is  Director of Design Research at Terreform ONE and an associate with the Cooper Union Institute for Sustainable Design. Melanie initiated ONE (Open Network Ecology) Odyssey, an interdisciplinary research enterprise based on philanthropic design principles, to integrate ecological issues into the urban environment. Her process focuses on the synergy of architecture, urban studies, and ecological science. Assessing the problem and the opportunity is the crucial theoretical basis for developing a socio-ecological framework of the urban environment, and is the core of Melanie’s investigations.

She received her post-professional degree Master of Architecture II from The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art with a focus on the history, theory, and criticism of architecture and urban studies. Prior to Cooper Union, Melanie earned her Diploma in Architecture and Engineering from Berlin University of Technology, Germany after attending the Escuela Superior de Architectura, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya in Barcelona, Spain. Melanie was awarded the Socrates Erasmus grant from The European Commission, Directorate-General for Education and Culture, which allowed her to continue her studies on ecological urbanism abroad. She was trained and worked as an architect and urban designer in Spain, Switzerland, and New York City, with a focus on municipal buildings and masterplanning.



Maria Aiolova
Jessica Banks
Carlos Barrios
Ayah Bdeir
Andy Cavatorta
Alexander Felson
Marc Fornes
Dan Grushkin
Mitchell Joachim
Ellen Jorgensen
Heather Knight
Andrew Laska
Adam Lassy
Janna Levin
Zach Lieberman
Josh Lifton
Kelly Loudenberg
David Maestres
Mary Mattingly
Kyle McDonald
Oliver Medvedik
Walter Meyer
Dan Paluska
Matt Parker
Amanda Parkes
James Patten
Andrew Personette
Marc Schwartz
Pablo Souto
Jenna Spevack
Richard The
Matt Tyson
Jason Vigneri-Beane
Bill Washabaugh
Christopher Woebken
Peter Yeadon


Marc Alt
Marcel Botha
Alison Chernick.
Ryan Chin
Jerome Chou
Carol Coletta
Margaret Crawford
Dickson Despommier
Daniel D'Oca
Bill Dunster
Alexander Felson
Joseph Grima
Deb Johnson
Bruce Lindsey
Yanni A. Loukissas,
Thomas E. Lovejoy
Geoff Manaugh
Victoria Marshall
Paul D. Miller a.k.a. DJ Spooky
James Patten
John Peterson
Mathan Ratinam
Frank Ruchala
Margie Ruddick
Michael S. Silver
Jason Vigneri-Beane
Joanna Underwood
Johanne Woodcock
Heather Wooftery
Mimi Zeiger